Saturday, July 21 2018
Twitter Facebook Twitter
HOURS:
Monday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Tuesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Wednesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Thursday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Friday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Saturday: 10 AM - 3 PM
Sunday: CLOSED

Posts Tagged ‘ Teen Fiction ’

T/weens Summer Stitch ROCKS: Mondays 3:00-4:30 (Register Grade 5 & Up)

T/weens Summer Stitch ROCKS: Mondays 3:00-4:30  (Register Grade 5 & Up)

Novice or seasoned knitters or crocheting peeps are invited to join us to stitch for charity or personal use. We have seasoned folks who can start you or help you progress. If you are new to the craft do not purchase anything before you come talk to us. There are 90 minutes set aside,...
Read more »

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in Children's Services, Programs, T/ween Summer Reading, Tweens & Teens, Youth Summer Reading | 1 Comment »

SYNC = FREE Audiobooks for T/weens

SYNC = FREE Audiobooks for T/weens

What is SYNC? What? SYNC is a free summer audiobook program for teens 13+. Returning April 26, 2018, SYNC will give away two complete audiobook downloads a week - pairs of high interest titles, based on weekly themes.   In 2017, 32 titles were given away over 16 weeks. Why? SYNC introduces a variety of audiobook experiences to...
Read more »

Tags: , , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, News, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

T/ween Book Talks ROCK 7/11/18 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 5 and Up!)

T/ween Book Talks ROCK 7/11/18 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 5 and Up!)

Join us as we talk together about ‘Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie’ by Jordan Sonnenblick’ and rock out to this book.  Conversation, candy, and chillin’. This is a great read for middle and high school ages.  Copies of this book are available at the main desk. Thirteen-year-old Steven has a totally normal life: he...
Read more »

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens, Youth Summer Reading | No Comments »

June Teen Book Discussion: 6/13/18 @6:30 PM

June Teen Book Discussion: 6/13/18 @6:30 PM

The book of the month is ‘Flowers for Algernon’ by Daniel Keyes.    With more than five million copies sold, Flowers for Algernon is the beloved, classic story of a mentally disabled man whose experimental quest for intelligence mirrors that of Algernon, an extraordinary lab mouse. In poignant diary entries, Charlie tells how a...
Read more »

Tags: ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

December Teen/Tween Book Discussion Wednesday 12/6/17 @6:30pm

December Teen/Tween Book Discussion Wednesday 12/6/17 @6:30pm

Combined teens and tweens for a busy month! The book chosen is ‘A Wrinkle in Time’ by Madeleine L’Engle. It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

Mindfulness: Simple Steps No Cushion Required (Registration Required) ~ 6:30 on 11/16/2017

Mindfulness:  Simple Steps No Cushion Required (Registration Required) ~ 6:30 on 11/16/2017

Join us for this introduction into the practice of Mindfulness. Paula Koppel explores the mind-body connection that fuels stress and simple ways to incorporate mindfulness into everyday life (Including some that do not require sitting on a cushion to meditate). Come learn the neuroscience involved and how mindfulness impacts the brain and how the practice promotes...
Read more »

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in Programs | No Comments »

November Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 11/8/17 @6:30pm

November Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 11/8/17 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘Thirteen Reason’s Why’ by Jay Asher. Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him...
Read more »

Tags: ,
Posted in Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

September Teen Book Discussion 9/13/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

September Teen Book Discussion 9/13/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Never Fall Down’ by Patricia McCormick. Based on the true story of Cambodian advocate Arn Chorn-Pond, and authentically told from his point of view as a young boy, this is an achingly raw and powerful historical novel about a child of war who becomes a man of peace....
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

Kids Knit-a-Bit ~ Mondays @ 2:30PM – 4:30PM (T/weens Ages 9-19)

Kids Knit-a-Bit ~ Mondays @ 2:30PM – 4:30PM (T/weens Ages 9-19)

Want to knit a bit?  Join other tween and teens ages 9-19 after school on Mondays from 2:30-4:30pm! Wait, you don’t get out of school until 3?  No worries, we are liking the idea of tweens and teens arriving at staggered times and staying for some or all of the time allotted.  We’ll have...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Children's Services, Programs, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

June Teen Book Discussion 6/14/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

June Teen Book Discussion 6/14/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Girl in Pieces’ by Kathleen Glasgow For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself. Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »