Saturday, April 29 2017
Twitter Facebook Twitter
HOURS:
Monday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Tuesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Wednesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Thursday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Friday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Saturday: 10 AM - 3 PM
Sunday: CLOSED

Tween Book Discussion

We meet the FIRST Wednesday of every month in the lower level of the library to discuss the book of the month from 6:30-7:30pm. All interested young people in grades 5-7 (not young adults, but not children, hence TWEENS) are welcome. Refreshments are served.

April Tween Book Discussion 4/5/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

April Tween Book Discussion 4/5/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Among the Hidden’ by Margaret Peterson Haddix In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke, an illegal third child, has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family’s farm in this start to the...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, News, Programs, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

March Tween Book Discussion 3/1/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

March Tween Book Discussion 3/1/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Stargirl’ by Jerry Spinelli    Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of ‘Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’ s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, News, Programs, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

February Tween Book Discussion 2/1/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

February Tween Book Discussion 2/1/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

The book for this month is: ‘A Night Divided’ by Jennifer A. Nielsen   With the rise of the Berlin Wall, twelve-year-old Gerta finds her family suddenly divided. She, her mother, and her brother Fritz live on the eastern side, controlled by the Soviets. Her father and middle brother, who had gone west in...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, News, Programs, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

January Tween Book Discussion 1/4/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

January Tween Book Discussion 1/4/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Roller Girl’ by Victoria Jamieson The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile! For most of her twelve years, Astrid...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

December Tween Book Discussion 12/7/16 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 5-7)

December Tween Book Discussion 12/7/16 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Drums, Girls, & Dangerous Pie’ by Jordan Sonnenblick.   A brave and beautiful story that will make readers laugh, and break their hearts at the same time. Steven has a totally normal life (well, almost). He plays drums in the All-City Jazz Band (whose members call him the...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

November Tween Book Discussion 11/2/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

November Tween Book Discussion 11/2/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘The Terrible Two’ by Mac Barnett & Jory John. Miles Murphy is not happy to be moving to Yawnee Valley, a sleepy town that’s famous for one thing and one thing only: cows. In his old school, everyone knew him as the town’s best prankster, but Miles quickly...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

October Tween Book Discussion 10/5/16 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 5-7)

October Tween Book Discussion 10/5/16 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Coraline’ by Neil Gaiman. Coraline’s often wondered what’s behind the locked door in the drawing room. It reveals only a brick wall when she finally opens it, but when she tries again later, a passageway mysteriously appears. Coraline is surprised to find a flat decorated exactly like her...
Read more »

Tags: ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

September Tween Book Discussion 9/7/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

September Tween Book Discussion 9/7/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Cracker: The Best Dog on the Battlefield’ by Cynthia Kadohata. Told in part through the uncanny point of view of a German shepherd, Cracker! is an action-packed glimpse into the Vietnam War as seen through the eyes of a dog and her handler. It’s an utterly unique powerhouse...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

‘July T/ween Book Discussion’ – Weds, July 6 @ 6:30-7:30pm (Register Grades 5-Up)

‘July T/ween Book Discussion’ – Weds, July 6 @ 6:30-7:30pm (Register Grades 5-Up)

‘An award-winning and inspiring novel.  When Jessica’s dreams are shattered, she puts herself back together—and learns to dream bigger than ever before.’ Book of the Month: ‘The Running Dream’ by Wendelin Van Draanen We combined the tween (grades 5-7) and teen (grades 8-12) in the summer for one awesome time of candy and chat. ...
Read more »

Tags: , , , , , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, T/ween Summer Reading, Teen Book Discussion, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens, Youth Summer Reading | No Comments »

June Tween Book Discussion 6/1/16 @ 6:30pm (Grades 5-7)

June Tween Book Discussion 6/1/16 @ 6:30pm (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Chains’ by Laurie Halse Anderson If an entire nation could seek its freedom, why not a girl? As the Revolutionary War begins, thirteen-year-old Isabel wages her own fight…for freedom. Promised freedom upon the death of their owner, she and her sister, Ruth, in a cruel twist of fate...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »