Monday, February 18 2019
Twitter Facebook Twitter
HOURS:
Monday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Tuesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Wednesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Thursday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Friday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Saturday: 10 AM - 3 PM
Sunday: CLOSED

Teen Book Discussion

We meet one evening of every month in the Teen Room to discuss the book of the month from 6:30-7:30pm. All interested young people in grades 8-12 are welcome. Refreshments are served. Ask for a copy of the current book at the front desk.

December T/ween COMBINED Book Discussion 12/3/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 6-12)

December T/ween COMBINED Book Discussion 12/3/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 6-12)

** Please note this month is a combination group for both tweens and teens. The book of the month is Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratz Survive. At any cost. 10 concentration camps. 10 different places where you are starved, tortured, and worked mercilessly. It’s something no one could imagine surviving. But it is what...
Read more »

Posted in Book Discussions, News, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

November Teen Book Discussion 11/12/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 9-12)

November Teen Book Discussion 11/12/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 9-12)

The book of the month is ‘Will Grayson, Will Grayson’ by John Green and David Levithan. One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building...
Read more »

Posted in Book Discussions, News, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

October Teen Book Discussion 10/8/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 9-12)

October Teen Book Discussion 10/8/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 9-12)

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong is the book of the month. My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again. All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don’t even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that...
Read more »

Posted in Book Discussions, News, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

September Teen Book Discussion 9/10/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 9-12)

September Teen Book Discussion 9/10/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 9-12)

The book of the month is ‘Before I Fall‘ by Lauren Oliver. With this stunning debut novel, New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver emerged as one of today’s foremost authors of young adult fiction. Like Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why and Gayle Forman’s If I Stay, Before I Fall raises thought-provoking questions about...
Read more »

Posted in Book Discussions, News, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

August T/Ween Book Discussion 8/13/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 6-12)

August T/Ween Book Discussion 8/13/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 6-12)

The book of the month is ‘Divergent’ by Veronica Roth. Perfect for fans of the Hunger Games and Maze Runner series, Divergent is an  electrifying thriller filled with tough decisions, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance. Fans of the Divergent movie will find the book packed with just as much emotional depth and exhilarating action...
Read more »

Posted in Book Clubs, News, T/ween Summer Reading, Teen Book Discussion, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

SPARK a ‘Code Orange’ Discussion 7/9/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Ages 10-19)

SPARK a ‘Code Orange’ Discussion 7/9/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Ages 10-19)

The book to ‘spark a reaction’ is Code Orange by Caroline B. Cooney. Walking around New York City was what Mitty Blake did best. He loved the city, and even after 9/11, he always felt safe. Mitty was a carefree guy–he didn’t worry about terrorists or blackouts or grades or anything, which is why...
Read more »

Posted in Book Discussions, News, Programs, T/ween Summer Reading, Teen Book Discussion, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens, Youth Summer Reading | Comments Off

June Teen Book Discussion 6/11/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 5-8)

June Teen Book Discussion 6/11/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 5-8)

The book of the month is ‘Fangirl’ by Rainbow Rowell.In Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life–and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

May Teen Book Discussion 5/14/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 9-12)

May Teen Book Discussion 5/14/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 9-12)

This book of the month is ‘You’ by Charles Benoit. This wasn’t the way it was supposed to go. You’re just a typical fifteen-year-old sophomore, an average guy named Kyle Chase. This can’t be happening to you. But then, how do you explain all the blood? How do you explain how you got here...
Read more »

Tags:
Posted in Book Clubs, Children's Services, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

April Teen Book Discussion 4/9/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 9-12)

April Teen Book Discussion 4/9/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 9-12)

The book of the month is ‘The Raft’ by S. A. Bodeen. Robie is an experienced traveler. She’s taken the flight from Honolulu to the Midway Atoll, a group of Pacific islands where her parents live, many times. When she has to get to Midway in a hurry after a visit with her aunt...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in News, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

March Combo T/ween Book Discussion 3/5/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 5-12)

March Combo T/ween Book Discussion 3/5/14 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 5-12)

** Please note this month is a combination group for both tweens and teens.The Maze Runner–James DashnerThe first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series—The Maze Runner is a modern classic, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember...
Read more »

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »