Saturday, July 21 2018
Twitter Facebook Twitter
HOURS:
Monday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Tuesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Wednesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Thursday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Friday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Saturday: 10 AM - 3 PM
Sunday: CLOSED

Teen Book Discussion

We meet the SECOND Wednesday of every month in the staff room to discuss the book of the month from 6:30-7:30pm. All interested young people in grades 8-12 are welcome. Refreshments are served. Ask for a copy of the current book at the front desk.

May Teen Book Discussion (grades 8-12) Wednesday 5/9/18 @6:30pm

May Teen Book Discussion (grades 8-12) Wednesday 5/9/18 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘The Hate U Give’ by Angie Thomas.  Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil...
Read more »

Tags: ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

April Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 4/11/18 @6:30pm

April Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 4/11/18 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘Flygirl’ by Sherri L. Smith. Ida Mae Jones dreams of flight. Her dad was a pilot and being black didn’t stop him from fulfilling his dreams. But her daddy’s gone now, and being a woman, and being black, are two strikes against her. When America enters the war with...
Read more »

Tags: ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

March Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 3/14/18 @6:30pm

March Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 3/14/18 @6:30pm

The Book of the month is ‘This Dark Endeavor’ by Kenneth Oppel. The 16-year-old Victor Frankenstein begins a dark journey that will change his life forever. Victor’s twin, Konrad, has fallen ill, and no doctor is able to cure him. Unwilling to give up on his brother, Victor enlists his cousin Elizabeth and best...
Read more »

Tags: ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

January Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 1/10/18 @6:30pm

January Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 1/10/18 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘The Girl in the Blue Coat’ by Monica Hesse. Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days finding and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the...
Read more »

Tags: ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

December Teen/Tween Book Discussion Wednesday 12/6/17 @6:30pm

December Teen/Tween Book Discussion Wednesday 12/6/17 @6:30pm

Combined teens and tweens for a busy month! The book chosen is ‘A Wrinkle in Time’ by Madeleine L’Engle. It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

November Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 11/8/17 @6:30pm

November Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 11/8/17 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘Thirteen Reason’s Why’ by Jay Asher. Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him...
Read more »

Tags: ,
Posted in Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

October Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 10/11/17 @6:30pm

October Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 10/11/17 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon.   My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.But then...
Read more »

Tags: ,
Posted in Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

September Teen Book Discussion 9/13/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

September Teen Book Discussion 9/13/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Never Fall Down’ by Patricia McCormick. Based on the true story of Cambodian advocate Arn Chorn-Pond, and authentically told from his point of view as a young boy, this is an achingly raw and powerful historical novel about a child of war who becomes a man of peace....
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

June Teen Book Discussion 6/14/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

June Teen Book Discussion 6/14/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Girl in Pieces’ by Kathleen Glasgow For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself. Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

BUILD A Better BOOK CLUB with T/weens (Grades 5 and Up) ‘Wonder’: Wed, July 5, 2017 6:30-7:30PM

BUILD A Better BOOK CLUB with T/weens (Grades 5 and Up) ‘Wonder’: Wed, July 5, 2017 6:30-7:30PM

Wonder is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Auggie wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old, but he is far from ordinary. Born with a terrible facial deformity, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, T/ween Summer Reading, Teen Book Discussion, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens, Youth Summer Reading | No Comments »