Saturday, April 29 2017
Twitter Facebook Twitter
HOURS:
Monday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Tuesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Wednesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Thursday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Friday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Saturday: 10 AM - 3 PM
Sunday: CLOSED

Teen Book Discussion

We meet the SECOND Wednesday of every month in the staff room to discuss the book of the month from 6:30-7:30pm. All interested young people in grades 8-12 are welcome. Refreshments are served. Ask for a copy of the current book at the front desk.

April Staycation Events 4/22-4/29

April Staycation Events 4/22-4/29

  Please open the entire post to access each registration link that is highlighted in RED.  Sign up early to avoid disappointment!   Items that have the strikeout font are already full to capacity.     Mon. April 24th  10:30 -11:00am: Travel Musically Around the World. Kids ages 0-6 will be exposed to different languages...
Read more »

Tags: , , , , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Story Times, Teen Book Discussion | No Comments »

April Teen Book Discussion 4/12/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

April Teen Book Discussion 4/12/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Symptoms of Being Human’ by Jeff Garvin A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers. Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

March Teen Book Discussion 3/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

March Teen Book Discussion 3/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Salt to the Sea’ by Ruta Sepetys    World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

February Teen Book Discussion 2/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

February Teen Book Discussion 2/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book for this month is: ‘Looking for Alaska’ by John Green Before. Miles ‘Pudge” Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole life has been one big non-event, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave ‘the Great Perhaps” even more (Francois Rabelais, poet). He heads...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, News, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

January Teen Book Discussion 1/11/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

January Teen Book Discussion 1/11/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘The Selection’ by Kiera Cass For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

December Teen Book Discussion 12/14/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

December Teen Book Discussion 12/14/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Monument 14′ by Emmy Laybourne 14 kids stranded inside a superstore. Inside they have everything they could ever need. There’s junk food and clothes, computer games and books, drugs and alcohol – and without adult supervision they can do whatever they want. Sounds like fun? But outside the...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

Community Stories Soldiers Home & Away Book Discussions ~ Sept 20th – Nov 9th

Community Stories Soldiers Home & Away Book Discussions ~ Sept 20th – Nov 9th

From September through November Kimball Library will hold several book discussions featuring the book The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien. This book was chosen as the selected read for a New Hampshire Humanities Community Project Grant called Community Stories: Soldiers Home & Away, a collaboration involving nine southern NH libraries and Timberlane Regional...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

November Teen Book Discussion 11/9/16 @ 6:30PM

November Teen Book Discussion 11/9/16 @ 6:30PM

The book of the month is: ‘The Things They Carried’ by Tim O’Brien.   They carried malaria tablets, love letters, 28-pound mine detectors, dope, illustrated bibles, each other. And if they made it home alive, they carried unrelenting images of a nightmarish war that history is only beginning to absorb. Since its first publication,...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

October Teen Book Discussion 10/12/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

October Teen Book Discussion 10/12/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Incantation’ by Alice Hoffman.   From a New York Times bestselling author comes a journey of loss and rebirth with a startling premise inspired by historical fact. Estrella is a Marrano: one of the Spanish Jews living double lives when those who refused conversion risked everything. Estrella’s discovery...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

September Teen Book Discussion 9/14/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

September Teen Book Discussion 9/14/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Sold’ by Patricia McCormick. Lakshmi is a thirteen-year-old girl who lives with her family in a small hut on a mountain in Nepal. Though she is desperately poor, her life is full of simple pleasures, like playing hopscotch with her best friend from school, and having her mother...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off