Tuesday, October 24 2017
Twitter Facebook Twitter
HOURS:
Monday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Tuesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Wednesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Thursday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Friday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Saturday: 10 AM - 3 PM
Sunday: CLOSED

Teen Book Discussion

We meet the SECOND Wednesday of every month in the staff room to discuss the book of the month from 6:30-7:30pm. All interested young people in grades 8-12 are welcome. Refreshments are served. Ask for a copy of the current book at the front desk.

November Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 11/8/17 @6:30pm

November Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 11/8/17 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘Thirteen Reason’s Why’ by Jay Asher. Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him...
Read more »

Tags: ,
Posted in Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

October Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 10/11/17 @6:30pm

October Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 10/11/17 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon.   My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.But then...
Read more »

Tags: ,
Posted in Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off

September Teen Book Discussion 9/13/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

September Teen Book Discussion 9/13/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Never Fall Down’ by Patricia McCormick. Based on the true story of Cambodian advocate Arn Chorn-Pond, and authentically told from his point of view as a young boy, this is an achingly raw and powerful historical novel about a child of war who becomes a man of peace....
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

June Teen Book Discussion 6/14/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

June Teen Book Discussion 6/14/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Girl in Pieces’ by Kathleen Glasgow For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself. Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

BUILD A Better BOOK CLUB with T/weens (Grades 5 and Up) ‘Wonder’: Wed, July 5th 6:30-7:30PM

BUILD A Better BOOK CLUB with T/weens (Grades 5 and Up) ‘Wonder’: Wed, July 5th 6:30-7:30PM

Wonder is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Auggie wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old, but he is far from ordinary. Born with a terrible facial deformity, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, T/ween Summer Reading, Teen Book Discussion, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens, Youth Summer Reading | No Comments »

May Teen Book Discussion 5/10/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

May Teen Book Discussion 5/10/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell. Two misfits. One extraordinary love. Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.Park… He knows she’ll love a song...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

April Staycation Events 4/22-4/29

April Staycation Events 4/22-4/29

  Please open the entire post to access each registration link that is highlighted in RED.  Sign up early to avoid disappointment!   Items that have the strikeout font are already full to capacity.     Mon. April 24th  10:30 -11:00am: Travel Musically Around the World. Kids ages 0-6 will be exposed to different languages...
Read more »

Tags: , , , , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Story Times, Teen Book Discussion | No Comments »

April Teen Book Discussion 4/12/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

April Teen Book Discussion 4/12/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Symptoms of Being Human’ by Jeff Garvin A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers. Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

March Teen Book Discussion 3/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

March Teen Book Discussion 3/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Salt to the Sea’ by Ruta Sepetys    World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

February Teen Book Discussion 2/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

February Teen Book Discussion 2/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book for this month is: ‘Looking for Alaska’ by John Green Before. Miles ‘Pudge” Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole life has been one big non-event, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave ‘the Great Perhaps” even more (Francois Rabelais, poet). He heads...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, News, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »