Saturday, April 29 2017
Twitter Facebook Twitter
HOURS:
Monday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Tuesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Wednesday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Thursday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Friday: 10 AM - 8 PM
Saturday: 10 AM - 3 PM
Sunday: CLOSED

Tweens & Teens

Did You Know? You can become a fan on FACEBOOK? Go ahead and ‘friend’ the teen librarian!

Did You Know? You can follow us on TWITTER?

Did You Know? You can earn COMMUNITY SERVICE hours.

Contact the youth services director for a volunteer application and availability of hours. You can earn hours by helping at children’s events or by preparing questions and co-leading one of the teen book discussions. Call Kathy Watson at (603) 362-5234 or send her an email at kwatson@kimballlibrary.com.

Kids Knit-a-Bit ~ Mondays @ 2:30PM – 4:30PM (T/weens Ages 9-19)

Kids Knit-a-Bit ~ Mondays @ 2:30PM – 4:30PM (T/weens Ages 9-19)

Want to knit a bit?  Join other tween and teens ages 9-19 after school on Mondays from 2:30-4:30pm! Wait, you don’t get out of school until 3?  No worries, we are liking the idea of tweens and teens arriving at staggered times and staying for some or all of the time allotted.  We’ll have...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Children's Services, News, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

Girls Who Code: Thursdays 2:30-4:30 (Register Grades 6-12)

Girls Who Code: Thursdays 2:30-4:30 (Register Grades 6-12)

Tech jobs are among the fastest growing in the country, yet girls are being left behind. While interest in computer science ebbs over time, the biggest drop off happens between the ages of 13-17.  This is why Girls Who Code was born.  Girls Who Code is a nonprofit organization that teaches girls computer science...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Programs, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

April Staycation Events 4/22-4/29

April Staycation Events 4/22-4/29

  Please open the entire post to access each registration link that is highlighted in RED.  Sign up early to avoid disappointment!   Items that have the strikeout font are already full to capacity.     Mon. April 24th  10:30 -11:00am: Travel Musically Around the World. Kids ages 0-6 will be exposed to different languages...
Read more »

Tags: , , , , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Children's Services, Programs, Story Times, Teen Book Discussion | No Comments »

Snap Circuits 101 (Register Grades 2-5): March Tuesdays @ 6:30pm

Snap Circuits 101 (Register Grades 2-5): March Tuesdays @ 6:30pm

With its easy-to-follow instructions, Snap Circuits gives your child a hands-on education in how electrical circuits work to run the everyday devices that they’re familiar with. They’ll also gain valuable lessons in building and in following instructions. With these projects, children will experiment with things like electric switches, integrated circuits, digital circuits, fuses, and...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Children's Services, Programs, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

Register for Teen Community Service for Library Buddies (4-5pm on Wednesdays, Until April 19)

Register for Teen Community Service for Library Buddies (4-5pm on Wednesdays,  Until April 19)

IF you are in grades 6-12 you can nurture a new or non-reader. You’ll have a little buddy to read and play games with. You’ll read together for 30 minutes and do crafts we prepare or play games we provide for 30 minutes. Receive community service hours for your time.   This is a 6...
Read more »

Posted in News, Programs, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

April Teen Book Discussion 4/12/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

April Teen Book Discussion 4/12/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Symptoms of Being Human’ by Jeff Garvin A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers. Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Discussions, Programs, Teen Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

Friday April 7: Star Wars Double Feature~Rogue One @6-8:15pm, Star Wars (A New Hope) @9-11:00pm *REGISTRATION REQUIRED

Friday April 7: Star Wars Double Feature~Rogue One @6-8:15pm, Star Wars (A New Hope) @9-11:00pm *REGISTRATION REQUIRED

Come for Rogue One at 6 PM. Rated PG 13. Run time 2 hrs 15 min Former scientist Galen Erso lives on a farm with his wife and young daughter Jyn. His peaceful existence comes crashing down when the evil Orson Krennic takes him away from his beloved family. Many years later, Galen is...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Children's Services, Programs, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

‘Build a Better World’ Cupcake Wars (Grades 4-12): Tuesday, April 25th @ 6:30pm *Registration Required

‘Build a Better World’ Cupcake Wars (Grades 4-12): Tuesday, April 25th @ 6:30pm *Registration Required

This is the 3rd Annual Cupcake Wars for t/weens.  Each year there are fun and fabulous entries! PARTICIPATION RULES~ 1. Anyone can participate in grades 4-12.   2. Each participant must prepare 6 un-decorated cupcakes prior to the event.  You must bring all your decorating tools and supplies that you will need.   3....
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Children's Services, News, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

April Tween Book Discussion 4/5/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

April Tween Book Discussion 4/5/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Among the Hidden’ by Margaret Peterson Haddix In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke, an illegal third child, has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family’s farm in this start to the...
Read more »

Tags: , ,
Posted in Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Children's Services, News, Programs, Tween Book Discussion, Tweens & Teens | No Comments »

Library Buddies starts March 15th! Register Now (Grades K-3 and Grades 6-12)

Library Buddies starts March 15th!  Register Now (Grades K-3 and Grades 6-12)

Pop into Kimball Library and be part of the trend that libraries are the hopping places to be in any season.  “Library Buddies” is one of the events that has been bursting at the seams for the past 9 years.  This crowd-pleasing event will be happening for 6 consecutive weeks on Wednesdays from 4-5pm beginning...
Read more »

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in Children's Services, Programs, Tweens & Teens | Comments Off